Essential Oils, Home, Special Needs

Peaceful Sleep – Essential Oil Blend

We all know the benefits of sleeping and I know when I don’t sleep well I’m grumpy the next day and find it harder to function. I’ve always had problems sleeping, sometimes it was the I-have-so-many-other-things-I-prefer-to-do-than-sleep and Sleep-is-a-waste-of-time, then when I finally did put my head to the pillow my mind would be filled with all these other things I could do, ideas to do, etc. Once I stayed up the whole night simply thinking and trying to sleep than thinking some more. Since then I had made a conscious effort not to think and to let those thoughts go.

Since discovering the world of essential oils with doTerra I have tried a few oils to assist with my sleep. I started with the lavender, then my body got used to it so I moved on to the Serenity blend which smelt amazing and would sometimes use this as a ‘purefume’ as well as sleeping. So no wonder this also stopped working.

One day when I was making the ‘Peaceful Child’ essential oil blend (formulated by another special needs mum for their active child), I realised that a lot of the oils overlap with the sleep oils and includes “French or Bulgarian lavender, marjoram, clary sage, vetiver, Boswellian frankincense, ylang ylang” – presumably because of the calming effects to the brain. To this, I have added:

  • Thyme – calms the mind and aids in regulating sleep patterns
  • Juniper Berry – well known to assist with night terrors
  • Cedarwood – soothes anxious thoughts and is a natural sedative

 

Peaceful Sleep

40 drops of Lavender
28 drops of Vetiver
25 drops of Ylang Ylang
16 drops of Frankincense
10 drops of Cedarwood
10 drops of Bergamot
5 drops of Juniper Berry
5 drops of Thyme
3 drops of Marjoram

Method

  1. Add all essential oils to a stock bottle. You can adjust the amounts if you would like to adapt this recipe to use directly for a roller bottle.
  2. Add approx 10-20 drops of the peaceful child stock blend in a 10ml roller and then top with fractionated coconut oil.

Using this method means you can use it in the diffuser or dilute further if it’s for babies or pregnant woman.

Usage  

Roll on neck under the chin or anywhere else where you can smell it.

I won’t go into the details of how and why essential oils. You can read more about sleep and essential oils with this amazing free ebook from doTerra.

 

Pricing

Based on the price per drop this stock bottle recipe works out to be S37.90 based on the retail price, or for doTerra members, this will come down to $28.40 for the wholesale price and only 20c a drop.

If you used 20 drops at a time it can make approx 7 rollers bringing it down to approx $5.40 a bottle (plus the cost of the bottle and the fractionated coconut oil) it makes it quite affordable for a good night’s sleep. The rollers last quite a few months even with rolling it on every night for the past few years.

Conclusion

I have found this has been amazing. I will roll it on my neck so I can smell it as I go to sleep.

When I’m needing extra help sleeping I will also take 3-5 long deep breaths and with the two techniques, I’m out in a few minutes.

 

If you’re in Brisbane, Australia contact us at www.youroiljourney.com.au to organise your own blending class and I can show you how to make this and more. Check out the store for pre-paid make and take vouchers under the “.

 

 

Disclaimer: I have been a doTerra Wellness advocate for many years and receive a commission for products bought by those on my team. Information is only based on my opinion and experience and is not to be taken as medical advice. Please see your doctor if symptoms persist and also discuss your current situation with your doctor if you intend to use this alongside prescribed medication.

Leave a comment